January 2017 Meeting Materials

Browse the most recent meeting materials, including the ABA's proposal to adopt Rule 8.4(g) of the Model Rules of Professional Conduct.

The House of Delegates establishes policy for the Bar.

It meets at least twice a year and includes delegates from each judicial circuit. Between House meetings, the Board of Governors may act on matters not inconsistent with House policy.

Meeting Minutes

January 2016 Meeting Minutes

May 2016 Meeting Minutes

House Members

J. Hagood Tighe, Columbia

Immediate Past Chair
J. Steedley Bogan, Columbia

Past Presidents
Kenneth C. Anthony Jr., Spartanburg
Saunders M. Bridges, Florence
Anne S. Ellefson, Greenville
F. Earl Ellis Jr., Columbia
Elaine H. Fowler, Charleston
Elizabeth Van Doren Gray, Columbia
Wm. Douglas Gray, Greenville
John A. Hagins Jr., Greenville
Wm. Brantley Harvey Jr., Beaufort
Knox L. Haynsworth Jr., Greenville
Jacob H. Jennings, Bishopville
I.S. Leevy Johnson, Columbia
D. Michael Kelly, Columbia
Howard P. King, Sumter
Lanneau Wm. Lambert Jr., Columbia
Wade H. Logan III, Mt. Pleasant
Angus H. Macaulay, Columbia
John O. McDougall, Columbia
Julius W. McKay, Columbia
James C. Parham Jr., Greenville
Alice F. Paylor, Charleston
William L. Pope, Columbia
A. Marvin Quattlebaum Jr., Greenville
Richard S. Rosen, Charleston
Henry B. Smythe Jr., Charleston
Carl L. Solomon, Columbia
Fred W. Suggs Jr., Greenville
Thomas S. Tisdale Jr., Charleston
Flo Lester Vinson, Florence
Bradish J. Waring, Charleston
J. Calhoun Watson, Columbia
Daniel B. White, Greenville
J. Rutledge Young Jr., Charleston

First Judicial Circuit (2)
Randall L. Charpia, Summerville

Second Judicial Circuit (2)
Mary T. Campbell, Aiken
Adam C. Ness, Bamberg

Third Judicial Circuit (2)
William M. O'Bryan Jr., Kingstree
Mary Amanda H. Shuler, Kingstree

Fourth Judicial Circuit (1)
Martin S. Driggers Jr., Hartsville

Fifth Judicial Circuit (30)
A. Parker Barnes III, Columbia
Susan B. Berkowitz, Columbia
George B. Cauthen, Columbia
Mark D. Chappell Jr., Columbia
Amie L. Clifford, Columbia
Leslie A. Cotter Jr., Columbia
Rosalyn Woodson Frierson, Columbia
Robert F. Goings, Columbia
Harry L. Goldberg, Columbia
Thomas R. Gottshall, Columbia
Daryl G. Hawkins, Columbia
Francis B.B. Knowlton, Columbia
LeRoy Free Laney, Columbia
James G. Long III, Columbia
John L. McCants, Columbia
Kathleen M. McDaniel, Columbia
Catherine E. Mubarak, Columbia
Cynthia H. Ouzts, Columbia
Jason P. Peavy, Columbia
Pamela Jane Roberts, Columbia
Carmelo B. Sammataro, Columbia
Stephen T. Savitz, Columbia
Jane Opitz Shuler, Columbia
Lana H. Sims Jr., Columbia
William R. Thomas, Columbia
Robert E. Tyson Jr., Columbia
Marguerite S. Willis, Columbia
Mitchell Willoughby, Columbia
Clinton J. Yarborough, Columbia

Sixth Judicial Circuit (1)
Riley J. Maxwell, Winnsboro

Seventh Judicial Circuit (5)
Samuel R. Bass II, Spartanburg
Stinson W. Ferguson, Spartanburg
Wes A. Kissinger, Spartanburg
J. Edwin McDonnell, Spartanburg
William O. Pressley Jr., Spartanburg

Eighth Judicial Circuit (2)
George P. Callison Jr., Greenwood
James G. Padgett III, Greenwood

Ninth Judicial Circuit (26)
Samuel K. Allen, Charleston
Brittany F. Boykin, Charleston
Christopher W. Burrows, Charleston
Nicholas J. Clekis, Charleston
Daniel W. Cooper, Charleston
Rhett C. Dunaway, Charleston
Debra J. Gammons, Charleston
C. Allen Gibson Jr., Charleston
W. Andrew Gowder Jr., Charleston
Justin S. Kahn, Charleston
Trent M. Kernodle, James Island
Joseph S. Mendelsohn, Charleston
C. Tyson Nettles, Charleston
Benjamin R. Pogue III, Mt. Pleasant
Edward K. Pritchard III, Charleston
Marie-Louise Ramsdale, Mt. Pleasant
John E. Robinson, Charleston
John E. Rosen, Charleston
Martha K. Runey, Charleston
Megan F. Stevens, Mt. Pleasant
Randell C. Stoney III, Charleston
Jason F. Taylor, Mt. Pleasant
R. Bruce Wallace, Charleston
David W. Wolf, Charleston

Tenth Judicial Circuit (3)
Daniel L. Draisen, Anderson
Jeremey Poindexter, Seneca
Andrew T. Potter, Anderson

Eleventh Judicial Circuit (5)
J. Leeds Barroll IV, Columbia
James E. Bradley, West Columbia
Dayne C. Phillips, Lexington
Lisa Lee Smith, Chapin
Christian G. Spradley, Saluda

Twelfth Judicial Circuit (3)
Kevin R. Etheridge, Florence
Julie J. Moose, Florence
John M. Prosser Jr., Johnsonville

Thirteenth Judicial Circuit (16)
Michael S. Cashman, Greenville
John V.S. Crangle, Greenville
Andrew S. Culbreath, Greenville
W. Kyle Dillard, Greenville
Frank L. Eppes, Greenville
Allen O. Fretwell, Greenville
Jack D. Griffeth, Greenville
Sean J. Hinton, Pickens
Russell T. Infinger, Greenville
Zandra L. Johnson, Greenville
Ross B. Plyler, Greenville
S. Venus Poe, Fountain Inn
Reid T. Sherard, Greenville
Blake Smith, Greenville
Samuel B. Tooker, Greenville
William M. Wilson III, Greenville

Fourteenth Judicial Circuit (5)
Mark S. Berglind, Bluffton
Lee D. Cope, Hampton
William B. Harvey III, Beaufort
Nancy D. Sadler, Beaufort
David L. Tedder, Beaufort

Fifteenth Judicial Circuit (7)
Melody J. Breeden, Myrtle Beach
Kenneth S. Generette, Conway
David B. Miller, Myrtle Beach
Randall K. Mullins, N. Myrtle Beach
John E. Roxon, Myrtle Beach
Hal M. Strange, Georgetown
Regina B. Ward, Conway

Sixteenth Judicial Circuit (3)
Daniel J. Ballou, Rock Hill
Thomas B. Pleming, York
Michael B. Smith, Rock Hill

Member At Large
Richard W. Allen, Laurens
Sarah A. Ford, Orangeburg
Anne Marie Hempy, Abbeville
E. Thompson Kinney, Camden

Out of State Delegates
Charles H. Crawford III, Atlanta, GA
Garry D. Malphrus, Falls Church, VA

ABA State Bar Delegates
John D. Elliott, Columbia
Adam B. Landy, Columbia

ABA State Delegate
I.S. Leevy Johnson, Columbia

Law Schools Deans
Andrew L. Abrams, Charleston
Robert M. Wilcox, Columbia

Section Delegates
Construction Law
Joshua D. Spencer, Greenville

Consumer Law
Carolyn G. Lybarker, Columbia

Corporate Banking and Securities
Sharon C. Bramlett, Columbia

Criminal Law
E. Charles Grose Jr., Greenwood

Dispute Resolution
Eric K. Englebardt, Greenville

Employment and Labor Law
Richard “Al” Phinney, Greenville

Environmental and Natural Resources
Sara P. Bazemore, Columbia

Family Law
Ashlin B. Potterfield, Columbia

Government Law
W. Lawrence Brown, Columbia

Health Care Law
Ariail B. Kirk, Columbia

Military and Veterans’ Law
Thomas A. McDermott, West Columbia

Probate, Estate Planning and Trust
Gena P. Ervin, Florence

Real Estate Practices
Wesley M. Graybill, Columbia

Solo and Small Firm Practitioners
Jeremy A. Thompson, Columbia

Tax Law
Thomas G. Sinclair, Greenville

Torts and Insurances Practices
Jason M. Imhoff, Spartanburg

Trial and Appellate Advocacy
D. Bradwell Rustin IV, Greenville

Workers’ Compensation
Ian D. Maguire, Myrtle Beach

Senior Lawyers Division
M. Malissa Burnette, Columbia
Pamela D. Robinson, Columbia

Young Lawyers Division
I. Ryan Neville, Charleston

Note: The members of the Board of Governors are also members of the House of Delegates.

()= Number of circuit delegate seats.

January 2017 Meeting Materials

Browse the most recent meeting materials, including the ABA's proposal to adopt Rule 8.4(g) of the Model Rules of Professional Conduct.