Federal Court System

United States Supreme Court

- 9 justices
- The president appoints justices for life with the advice and consent of the Senate
- Court decides which cases to hear
- Final authority in all matters regarding the U.S. Constitution and federal law

United States Circuit Court of Appeals

- 13 circuits (12 regional circuits, 1 federal circuit) with varying numbers of judges (179 judgeships)
- The president appoints judges for life with the advice and consent of the Senate
- Court hears all appeals brought before it
- South Carolina is part of the Fourth Circuit, located in Richmond, Virginia

Federal District Courts

- 94 districts throughout the United States and Puerto Rico, two special trial courts with nationwide jurisdiction (U.S. Court of International Trade and U.S. Court of Federal Claims), and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts (more than 600 judgeships)
- The president appoints judges for life with the advice and consent of the Senate
- Trial courts with original jurisdiction in all cases involving federal law and cases involving citizens of different states or between U.S. citizens and those of another country
- South Carolina has eight district courts located in Aiken, Anderson, Beaufort, Charleston, Columbia, Florence, Greenville, and Spartanburg