In 1958, the South Carolina Bar and the University of South Carolina School of Law established Memory Hold the Door, to preserve for the inspiration of future generations the high ethical and professional standards of past leaders of the legal profession by acclaiming and extolling their virtues. The School of Law displays Memory Hold the Door books in the library.

The <u>South Carolina Bar Foundation</u> raises money to recognize the legal giants included each year. The purpose of the funds is to promote, through the University of South Carolina School of Law, the welfare of the legal profession by using the income for scholarships.

The Memory Hold the Door Committee has charge of identifying and selecting individuals worthy of inclusion. The lawyers remembered, therefore, represent a true Honor Roll of the legal profession, selected by their fellow lawyers as best exemplifying the qualities of integrity, professionalism and skill required of the Bench and Bar.

The below SC Bar members will be recognized during the 2024 Memory Hold the Door Ceremony scheduled at 1:30 p.m. on May 9th, in the Hon. Karen J. Williams Courtroom at the USC School of Law, 1525 Senate Street, in Columbia. A reception will immediately follow the program, in the Perrin Family room at the law school.



Hon. G. Ross Anderson, Jr. , Anderson



Grady B. Anthony, Greenville



Hon. Daniel B. Causey, III, Darlington



Hon. Edward B. Cottingham, Sr., Bennettsville



L. Franklin Elmore, Greenville



Prof. John P. Freeman, Columbia



Johnnie Sue D. Fulton, Greenville



Hon. Judy Bridges McMahon, Charleston



Shawn L. Reeves, Columbia



Albert V. Smith, Spartanburg