Posted in: Lawyers None, Announcements


Beaufort attorney Mary E. Sharp took office as president of the South Carolina Bar on May 6. 

An experienced litigator and certified mediator, Sharp founded Sharp Law Firm, LLC, in March 2017. Judge Stephanie McDonald of the South Carolina Court of Appeals swore Sharp in during a virtual annual meeting of Bar members. 

“I am proud to have the opportunity to serve my fellow lawyers and state in this new capacity,” Sharp said. “Our profession includes so many dedicated problem solvers committed to making a difference in South Carolina, and I look forward to working with these leaders to improve the profession, our communities and access to justice.”

Sharp has a strong history of advocating for the role of women in the legal profession and is a past president of both the National Conference of Women’s Bar Associations (NCWBA) and the South Carolina Women Lawyers Association (SCWLA). Sharp was honored by SCWLA with its annual Jean Galloway Bissell Award, in 2019.  In her law practice, Sharp represents clients in trial and appellate proceedings, in civil matters including those involving personal injury, business litigation, construction litigation, and insurance coverage. 

She has served on the SC Bar Board of Governors since 2014 and is also a past president of the Charleston, S.C. Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates. Sharp previously served as NCWBA’s liaison to the American Bar Association’s Commission on Women in the Profession and on the Board of Directors of the South Carolina Bar Foundation.   

South Carolina Court of Appeals Judge Stephanie P. McDonald issued the oath of office to Sharp and shared a short speech about Sharp with the Assembly. 

"Mary has influenced women to pursue careers in the law and opened doors for women and women lawyers in settings historically closed to them...," McDonald said. "She does everything in her power to encourage and teach the next generation of young lawyers. She’s made not only a name for herself in the courtroom but has forged a path for other women lawyers in Beaufort County."

In addition to serving the legal profession, Sharp is also active in the Lowcountry community.  She currently serves on the advisory board of the Penn Center and is a past president of the Board of Lowcountry Legal Volunteers and the Board of Friends of Caroline Hospice.

She received her juris doctorate from the Wake Forest University School of Law in 1993 and a B.A. in business administration from North Carolina State University in 1990.

Other officers sworn in for 2021-22 were Hagood Tighe of Columbia, president-elect; Rusty Infinger of Greenville, treasurer; Shaheena Bennett of Moncks Corner, secretary; Sidney J. Evering, II of Orangeburg and E. Scott Moise of Charleston, board members; John O. McDougall of Columbia, Senior Lawyers Division representative; Paige Chamberlain Ornduff of Charleston and Perry MacLennan of Florence, Young Lawyers Division representatives. Hon. James E. Lockemy of Dillon and Teckla S. Henderson of Blythewood were installed as ABA State Bar delegates. A. Sandy Cruickshanks, IV of Clinton was sworn in as Senior Lawyers Division president and Jeanmarie Tankersley of Greenville was sworn in as Young Lawyers Division president.