SCBAR
  Login
Service to the Public

Backpack Drive Committee
This committee collects new backpacks, school supplies and other educational items for donation to South Carolina children in need in August. Click here for more information and supply drop-off locations.

Paul H. Hoefer, Co-Chair
Robinson McFadden & Moore, PC
P.O. Box 944
Columbia, SC 29202
(803) 779-8900
phoefer@robinsonlaw.com

Dyllan Rankin, Co-Chair
The Law Office of T. Dyllan Rankin, LLC   55 Broad Street, Suite 100
Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 628-3158
dyllan@therankinlawfirm.com

 

Cinderella Project
Celebrating its 11th season, the Cinderella Project involves gathering donations of gently worn formal gowns, shoes and accessories for socially and economically disadvantaged high school students. Students from area high schools are invited to attend a boutique held in the spring to “shop” for a dress and other items at no cost. Members of this committee assist with collecting the dresses, organizing the boutiques and assisting the belles of the ball (prom attendees) as they “shop” on the day of the boutique.


Michelle P. Kelley
, Chair
Richardson Plowden & Robinson, PA
1900 Barnwell St.
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 576-3736
mkelley@richardsonplowden.com

Allison Humen
, Anderson Project
(864) 260-4636
allisonhumen@gmail.com

Christy Tyner
, Aiken Coordinator
Maxwell Law Firm
P.O. Box 1115
Aiken, SC 29802
(803) 641-6700
ctyner@maxwelllawfirm.com

Logan Wells
, Greenville Coordinator
Collins & Lacy, PC
P.O. Box 5819
Greenville, SC 29606
(864) 282-9100
lwells@collinsandlacy.com

Sheila Bias
, Midlands Project Coordinator
Richardson Plowden & Robinson, P.A.
1900 Barnwell Street
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 576-3718
sbias@richardonsplowden.com
Jenny Ouzts, Greenwood Project
(864) 941-6604
newheartjo@aol.com
Erica Lybrand, Midlands Project Coordinator
Rogers Townsend & Thomas, PC
220 Executive Center Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
(803) 744-5289
erica.lybrand@rtt-law.com

Lisa Hostetler
, Midlands Project Coordinator
Rogers Townsend & Thomas, PC
220 Executive Center Drive
Columbia, SC 29210
(803) 744.3656
lisa.hostetler@rtt-law.com

Lakesha Jeffries
, Orangeburg Coordinator
Jeffries Law Firm, LLC
P.O. Box 646
Orangeburg, SC 29116
(803) 531-6300
ljeffries@jeffrieslawsc.com

 

Community Law Week
Held each year during the first week of May, Community Law Week is designed to promote the legal profession through service. During Community Law Week, members of this committee will assist each circuit representative with selecting, planning and implementing at least one service project in each of the 16 circuits.

L. Cody Smith, Co-Chair
Rogers Lewis
1330 Lady St., Suite 400
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 978-2826
csmith@rogerslewis.com
Claude Prevost, Co-Chair
Collins & Lacy, PC
PO Box 12487
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 256-2660
cprevost@collinsandlacy.com

 
Families Forever
This nationally recognized program focuses on adoption and foster care awareness with assistance from the Department of Social Services, Adoption Coalition for Education and Support (ACES) and various other organizations. Members of this committee will produce educational materials and organize adoption awareness fairs in Charleston, Greenville and Lexington to educate families on foster care and adoption. 

Betsy Tanner, Co-Chair
Anderson Oyer, LLC
405 Parker Ivy Dr.
Greenville, SC 29607
(864) 228-7808
betsy@andersonoyer.com
Jacqueline Bond Anthony, Co-Chair
Craver & Current, PA
P. O. Box 1016
Charleston, SC 29402
(843) 577-7557
janthony@currentlawfirm.com
   

iCivics Committee
iCivics is a web-based education project designed to teach students about civics and inspire them to be active participants and leaders in our democracy. Members of this committee will assist with implementing this program throughout South Carolina by planning and sponsoring three conferences to teach educators how to use iCivics in their classrooms. Additionally, members of this committee will participate in various programs to showcase iCivics and generate interest. This project is co-sponsored by the federal judges of the Fourth Circuit, S.C. Defense Trial Attorneys Association and other organizations.

Blaire Camp, Co-Chair
S.C. Supreme Court
PO Box 11330
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 734-1578
bcamp@sccourts.org
Lindsay Joyner, Co-Chair
Gallivan, White & Boyd, PA
PO Box 7368
Columbia, SC 29202
(803) 799-1833
ljoyner@gwblawfirm.com

 

Protecting Our Youth Through Legal Education
To educate at-risk high school students on criminal law and the consequences of their actions and choices, members of this committee will plan programs about various topics including prosecuting students as adults, repeat offenders, new DUI laws and drug offenses. This project will be conducted with assistance from the S.C. Department of Juvenile Justice, Children’s Law Center and the Bar’s Children’s Law Committee.

James E. Brogdon III, Co-Chair
Gallivan White & Boyd, P.A.
P.O. Box 10589
Greenville, SC 29603
(803) 779-1833/Fax: (864) 271-7502
jbrogdon@gwblawfirm.com
Clarke Newton, Co-Chair
Bluestein Nichols Thompson & Delgado, LLC
1614 Taylor Street
Columbia, SC 29202
(803) 779-7599
cnewton@bntdlaw.com
Drew Walker, Co-Chair
Rogers Lewis Jackson Mann & Quinn, LLC
PO Box 11803
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 978-2836
dwalker@rogerslewis.com
Ashleigh Wilson, Co-Chair
S.C. Attorney General's Office
PO Box 11549
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 734-3737
arwilson@scag.gov


Law Student Outreach
The purpose of this committee is to connect law students and Division members in an effort to help ease the transition upon graduation and provide opportunities to get involved with the Bar. Members of this committee will organize events including the annual Pig Cook-Off and a career fair for members of the Bar Law Student Division, and professional development programs.

Tommy Preston, Co-Chair
Nexsen Pruet, LLC
PO Box 2426
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 540-2167
tpreston@nexsenpruet.com
Rebecca Roser, Co-Chair
Robinson McFadden & Moore, PC
PO Box 944
Columbia, SC 29202
(803) 227-1129
rroser@robinsonlaw.com
Andy Yoho, Co-Chair
S.C. Supreme Court
1231 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 734-3151
jandrewyoho@gmail.com
 


Special Olympics
South Carolina lawyers—and their friends and family members—are encouraged to participate in Special Olympics South Carolina through volunteer opportunities at each of the three statewide games and work with Special Olympics in their communities to serve the needs of South Carolinians with intellectual disabilities. Lawyers, law firms and other legal organizations will be encouraged to attend the annual galas in Columbia and Charleston as well as other fundraisers for SOSC. Members of this committee will assist with recruiting and organizing volunteers. 

H. Cooper Wilson III
Charleston Coordinator
Hood Law Firm, LLC
P.O. Box 1508
Charleston, SC 29402-1508
(843) 577-1205
cooper.wilson@hoodlaw.com

 

 

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)
This committee provides free tax preparation for households with low-to-moderate incomes. Members will receive training to prepare basic tax returns in various communities throughout the state and assist with recruiting other lawyer volunteers to participate in the tax preparation “super Saturdays.” The training will be sponsored by organizations that run VITA sites (libraries, churches, schools and neighborhood centers) and will be conducted by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Adam B. Landy, Chair
McNair Law Firm, PA
P.O. Box 11390
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 799-9800
alandy@mcnair.net

 

 

Voices Against Violence
This program is designed to educate young lawyers about the epidemic of domestic violence and engage young lawyers in efforts to respond to and prevent the same by taking part in legislative advocacy, handling pro bono cases involving domestic violence, providing support to shelters, and delivering presentations to the public about domestic violence. This committee also hosts a free CLE on domestic violence in the spring. Click here for information on the 2013 Women in Need Necessities Drive.

Joseph Rohe, Co-Chair
Smith Moore Leatherwood, LLP
300 East Mcbee Avenue, Suite 500
Greenville, SC 29601
Andrea Sancho, Co-Chair
S.C. Supreme Court
316 South Harden Street
Columbia, SC 29205
(803) 734-1078
sanchoac@gmail.com

 

Wills Clinics
This committee provides free wills for first response personnel throughout the state, including police officers, firefighters and paramedics. During a clinic, attorneys will meet with first responders to provide this service. Guidelines, forms and a training session are provided in advance. Members of this committee will help recruit attorney volunteers to draft wills and assist with planning the clinics.

Sean Markham, Chair
(843) 817-9777
markhamsean@gmail.com

 

 

 

Habitat for Humanity Wills Clinics
This committee provides free wills for Habitat for Humanity homeowners. During a clinic, attorneys will meet with homeowners to provide this service. Guidelines, forms and a training session will be provided prior to clinics. For more information and upcoming clinics, click here.

Courtney Landsverk, Co-Chair
South Carolina Department of Mental Health
2414 Bull Street, Suite 403
Columbia, SC 29202
(864) 706-7403
cclandsverk@gmail.com