S.C. lawyers, judges to convene in Columbia Jan. 19-22

January 12, 2012

Columbia, S.C. (January 12, 2012) —South Carolina lawyers will convene Thursday, Jan. 19, through Sunday, Jan. 22, at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center for the annual S.C. Bar Convention. The 2012 event will host nationally renowned speakers in the legal arena, including U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justices Antonin Scalia and Stephen Breyer and Sen. Lindsey Graham.

The Bar’s House of Delegates meets in conjunction with the Convention on Thursday at 11 a.m. During its meeting, the House is expected to debate:
 •  a request from the Member Involvement Task Force to create a Law Student Division of the Bar;

 • a request from the Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee to approve proposed strategies for the improved protection of the public from non-lawyers engaging in the unauthorized practice of law;

 • a request from the Probate, Estate Planning and Trust Section to approve proposed legislative amendments to the S.C. Probate Code;

 • a request from the Practice and Procedure Committee to approve a proposed amendment to Rule 6(e), SCRCP, extending from five days to eight the time allotted for response to a notice served upon a party by mail; and

 • a request from the Professional Responsibility Committee to approve proposed amendments to Rule 1.5, SCRCP, regarding flat fee agreements.

The House will also receive a report regarding proposed changes to Rule 410, SCACR, and reports from the S.C. Bar Foundation, USC School of Law and Charleston School of Law. The House will nominate members of the S.C. Supreme Court Commission on Continuing Legal Education and Specialization. Bar President A. Marvin Quattlebaum Jr. will report on issues being addressed during his term.

The annual Memory Hold the Door ceremony takes place on Thursday evening, treating attendees and their guests to an account of the lives and contributions of selected honored, deceased Bar members. This year’s honorees are: Roy D. Bates, Hon. Walter B. Brown Jr., Hon. Mary E. Buchan, Cotton C. Harness III, Leo H. Hill, Hon. Matthew J. Perry Jr., Gene V. Pruet, Prof. Charles H. Randall Jr. and Hon. Wyatt T. Saunders Jr.

Convention attendees will hear S.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice Jean Toal’s State of the Judiciary remarks during Friday’s plenary luncheon, where the S.C. Bar Foundation’s prestigious DuRant Award will be presented to David A. Merline of Greenville. Luncheon attendees will also be treated to remarks by Furman University President Rod Smolla and a special performance by the Benedict College Gospel Choir, with introduction by Jim Sonefield of Hootie and the Blowfish.

The annual Bar Convention is an opportunity for South Carolina lawyers to attend a variety of continuing legal education programs, network with colleagues and members of the judiciary and enhance their practices through technology demonstrations and programs and services offered by Convention vendors. For a complete Convention itinerary, please visit www.scbar.org/convention.

The South Carolina Bar, which has a membership of more than 14,000 lawyers, is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.


Note: A complete House of Delegates agenda with supporting materials is available upon request. If you plan to attend any Convention events, please contact Leigh Thomas at the information below so that we may plan accordingly. For a complete lineup of events, please see the online Convention brochure at www.scbar.org/convention.