Area students advance in mock congressional competition

January 10, 2012

COLUMBIA, S.C. (January 10, 2012) —Scholars Academy of Conway won the S.C. Bar Law Related Education (LRE) Division’s We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution competition on Thursday, Jan. 5, at Columbia College. The runner up was Wilson High School in Florence. Third place was given to Carolina Forest High School of Myrtle Beach, and Wando High School (Team 2) of Charleston placed fourth.

Scholars Academy will compete in the national competition April 27-May 1 at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. Students from Wilson High School, Carolina Forest High School and Wando High School (Team 2) will represent South Carolina in the first Battle of the Carolinas competition in March in Charlotte.

Students from Scholars Academy included Nathan Beasley, Michael Crumpler, Alex Garland, Alyssa Lundy, Sarah Martin, Emily Rhorick, Tyler Rhorick, Jake Sheehan, Sean Thompson and Peter Yan. The team was led by instructor Georgia Holley.

Students from Wilson High School included William Barnes, David Boyd, Ryan Branco, Anand Chokshi, Marilyn Dean, Kelly Elliot, Davis Fortier, Markeda Jerido, Emily Weston Kannon, Alexandra Kawecki, Shelby Lewis, Zareya Lewis, Kristy Liao, Dongzhe Ma, Carmela Malin, Anjali Om, Aditya Pande, Nikko Smit, Elizaveta Talantova, Allyson Walters and Louise White. The team was led by instructor Yvonne Rhodes.

Students from Carolina Forest High School included Mitchell Babb, Matt Barfield, Beatriz Bassaco, Casey Berry, Samantha Cahill, Sarah Campbell, Ian Clardy, Scott Covino, Matthew Crane, John Cuomo, Leslie Derby, Michelle Dickens, Jessie Fernandez, Johann Forrest, Catherine Goodwin, Katelynn Guyla, Allison Holland, Caitlyn Hummell, Brian Hungerford, Ericka Johnson, Shannon King, Aaron LaValle, Tatiana Mgrdechian, Andrew Moore, Benjamin Moses, John Pai, Nia Payne, Andrew Rollins, Emily Schassler, Derek Sisco, Ryan Spraker, Taylor Stenbeck, Nicole Storms, Victoria Stout, Austin Turbeville, Kristin Ward, Emily Wenlend and Bryce Wilkins. The team was led by instructor JJ Iagulli.

Students from Wando High School (team 2) included Reynolds Adams, Tanner Croft, Rachael Cunninghamd, Sanders Dargan, Zachary Fogleman, Chelsea Frasier, Zachary Glusman, Isabel Harper, Justin Henline, Paige Jellison, Adam Johnston, Patricia Jokl, Jack Meagher, Emma Miller, Savannah Miller, Dalton Mills, Nike Pappas, Amie Parris, Miranda Rodriguez, Nicholas Sottile, Michael Spires, Rebecca Sydow, Ayden Tarrant-Willis, Kimberly Varadi and Layne Walker. The team was led by instructor Misty LeClerc.

We the People is an in-depth study of American history with an emphasis on understanding the formation of the Constitution and its interpretation throughout history. Students competed in a mock congressional hearing and discussed critical issues regarding American government, the founding fathers and current events based on a constitutional perspective.

The S.C. Bar’s LRE Division, which was developed to improve the ability of teachers to instruct law related education, has been a part of the Bar since 1976. We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution is made possible by a grant from the Center for Civic Education and an IOLTA grant from the S.C. Bar Foundation.

The South Carolina Bar, which has a membership of more than 14,000 lawyers, is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.