News + Press

Annual memorial program to honor distinguished members of the Bar

January 15, 2014

COLUMBIA, S.C. (Jan. 15, 2014) — Distinguished past members of the S.C. Bar will be memorialized at the annual Memory Hold the Door ceremony on Thursday, Jan. 23, at the Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

Established in 1958, this annual memorial provides an opportunity for the S.C. Bar and USC School of Law faculty to recognize and honor distinguished deceased members of the Bar and continue funding an endowment at the USC School of Law for scholarships, lectures, research and academic programs. The S.C. Bar Foundation has graciously contributed to the USC Educational Foundation in honor of those memorialized.

The honorees represent a true honor roll of the legal profession, selected by their peers as best exemplifying the qualities of integrity, professionalism and skill required of the bench and bar.

The ceremony is held in conjunction with the annual S.C. Bar Convention, taking place Jan. 23-26 at the Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort. The ceremony will begin at 5 :15 p.m. and will treat attendees to an account of the lives and contributions of the following honorees:

Jackson L. Barwick Jr., Chapin
Justice A. Lee Chandler, Mt. Pleasant
David H. Crum, Denmark
Martha B. Dicus, Charleston
T. Allen Legare Jr., Charleston
Hon. Berry L. Mobley, Lancaster
William B. Regan, Charleston
Melvin L. Roberts, York
Morris D. Rosen, Charleston
J.D. Todd Jr., Greenville

The South Carolina Bar, which has a membership of more than 14,500 lawyers, is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.



950 Taylor Street, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 | Phone (803) 799-6653 | Fax (803) 799-4118 |