News + Press

S.C. Bar Law Related Education Division announces 2012 award winners

April 20, 2012

COLUMBIA, S.C. (April 20, 2012) — The S.C. Bar Law Related Education (LRE) Division has announced the winners of its 2012 LRE Awards. Congratulations to the following award recipients:

Lawyer of the Year: Gene P. Vaught III
Citizen of the Year: Virginia Seymour
Legacy Award: Lynn Dickinson
High School Teacher of the Year: Misty Leclerc, Wando High School
Middle School Teacher of the Year: John Goldsborough, Blythewood Middle School
High School of the Year: Fort Dorchester High School
Middle School of the Year: St. Anthony Catholic School

The 2012 High School Mock Trial Scholarship recipients are:
•    Jack Ball, Greenwood High School
•    Jessica Fryml, Bob Jones Academy
•    Kristen Ince, Bob Jones Academy
•    Melanie McKinney, Strom Thurmond High School
•    Robert Reid, Blythewood High School
•    Christopher Reynolds, Blythewood High School
•    Megan Rudd, Strom Thurmond High School
•    Nicholas Sottile, Wando High School

The 2012 We the People Scholarship recipients are:
•    Nicholas Sottile, Wando High School
•    Peter Yan, Scholars Academy

For complete descriptions of awards and scholarships or for more information, visit

The S.C. Bar LRE Division, which was developed to improve the ability of teachers to instruct law related education, has been part of the Bar since 1976.

The South Carolina Bar, which has a membership of more than 14,000 lawyers, is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.



950 Taylor Street, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 | Phone (803) 799-6653 | Fax (803) 799-4118 |