News + Press

February 2, 2012

January 31, 2012

Welcome to the South Carolina Bar's E-Blast! 
February 2, 2012
E-Blast highlights upcoming activities, legal information and links to the Bar's website at
The South Carolina Bar is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.

Judicial election results
Judicial elections were held on Wednesday, Feb. 1. Congratulations to 
Robert Eldon Hood, elected to Circuit Court, 5th Circuit, Seat 3. The following judges were reelected: Supreme Court: Seat 4, Hon. Kaye Gorenflo Hearn; Court of Appeals: Seat 8, Hon. Thomas E. Huff; Circuit Court: 3rd Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. George C. James Jr.; 4th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. John Michael Baxley; 5th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. Lee Casey Manning; 7th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. Roger Lynn Couch; 8th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. Eugene Cannon Griffith Jr.; 9th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. Kristi Lea Harrington; 10th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. Alexander Stephens Macaulay; 11th Circuit, Seat 1, Hon. William Paul Keesley; 11th Circuit, Seat 2, Hon. R. Knox McMahon; 12th Circuit, Seat 1, Hon. Michael G. Nettles; and 14th Circuit, Seat 1, Hon. Perry M. Buckner III; Administrative Law Court: Seat 2, Hon. John Davis McLeod.

Judicial vacancies

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for Family Court, 10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2; Circuit Court, 11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3; Master-in-Equity, Georgetown County; and Master-in-Equity, Lexington County. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission: Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel, P.O. Box 142, Columbia, SC 29202, (803) 212-6629. The Commission will not accept applications after noon on Tuesday, March 6. For more details on the application process, view the complete
media release from the Commission.

Chief Justice Toal to deliver State of the Judiciary address
Chief Justice Jean H. Toal will deliver her State of the Judiciary address on Feb. 8 at noon. Her speech will be broadcast live on the Internet and will be archived for later viewing. The live broadcast can be accessed from the S.C. Legislature
website. A link to the archived version will be posted on the Judicial Department's website following the address.

On the website!
Members now have the ability to display a link to their firm website at! To add your website, simply log in at, click “Update My Profile” and add your firm’s website in the appropriate field. The website link will be displayed in the online member directory, which is available to both members and the public.

Make plans to attend 
ABA TECHSHOW 2012 March 29-31 at the Hilton Chicago! Register by Feb. 17 to take advantage of early-bird pricing, and Bar members can receive an even deeper discount by selecting the Event Promoter pricing and providing EP code 1225. Register online or by completing the Event Promoter Registration Form. Find out what’s hot in legal technology this year, including tablets, social media, cloud computing and more. For more information, contact Courtney Kennaday at

Legislative report
Don't forget to check out tomorrow's
Weekly Legislative Report! Updates will be posted every Friday throughout the legislative session.

Advance Sheet update
February 1, 2012
In this action resulting from a divorce case, the S.C. Supreme Court reversed the Court of Appeals' denial of attorney's fees to the wife and reinstated the amount awarded by the family court. The Court found that the family court properly considered the husband's beneficial results in determining the amount of the award as directed by the Court of Appeals.
Chisholm v. Chisholm, No. 27092, is available
Justice Pleicones dissented in a separate opinion. Justice Hearn did not participate.

Firm announcements
W. Mullins McLeod Jr. announces the opening of McLeod Law Group, LLC and that 
Julie L. Moore has joined the firm as an associate located at 134 Meeting St., Ste. 160, Charleston 29401. (843) 277-6655. 

Rogers Townsend & Thomas, PC announces that Michael P. Morris has been elected shareholder in the Columbia office located at 220 Executive Center Dr., 29210, (803) 771-7900, and J. Geoffrey Osborn Jr. has been elected shareholder in the Greenville office located at 401 N. Main St., Ste. 100, 29601, (803) 744-1918.

February 3
Children's Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 10
Practice and Procedure Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 23-24
Board of Governors Meeting, Bar Building

March 2
Bar Foundation Board of Governors Meeting, Bar Building
South Carolina Lawyer Editorial Board Meeting, Bar Building

To be added or deleted from the E-Blast mailing list, please contact Donna Oelhafen in Membership Services at or (803) 799-6653, ext. 171.

E-Blast Archives


950 Taylor Street, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 | Phone (803) 799-6653 | Fax (803) 799-4118 |