News + Press

January 17, 2012

January 13, 2012

Welcome to the South Carolina Bar's E-Blast! 
January 17, 2012
E-Blast highlights upcoming activities, legal information and links to the Bar's website at
The South Carolina Bar is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.

E-Blast schedule change
Thursday’s E-Blast will be held over until Friday, Jan. 20, in order to include Board of Governors and House of Delegates actions from Thursday’s meetings.

Board members elected
No petitions were received seeking an officer, Board member or delegate seat. Therefore, the nominees presented by the Bar's Nominating Committee have been elected. Those nominated were Alice F. Paylor of Charleston for President-Elect, J. Calhoun Watson of Columbia for Treasurer, Anne S. Ellefson of Greenville for Secretary, William Witherspoon of Columbia for Chair of the House of Delegates, James Edward Bradley of W. Columbia and Edward K. Pritchard III of Charleston for Board seats, and Rosalyn W. Frierson of Columbia and Daniel B. White of Greenville for ABA State Bar Delegates. Automatically succeeding to the office of President will be Angus H. Macaulay of Columbia.

2012 Leadership Academy class selected
The following Bar members have been selected for inclusion in the 2012 Leadership Academy: Jake S. Barker, Michael S. Cashman, Rebecca P. Creel, Erin F. Farthing, Daniel R. Goldberg, Chad N. Johnston, John T. Merrell, E. Michael Pinella, Tiffany N. Richardson, William O. Sweeny IV and Carmen Harper Thomas. The purpose of the Leadership Academy is to enhance the professional growth and leadership skills of members of the Bar to prepare them for greater contributions to the legal profession and the community. This fourth installment of the Academy will kick off on Jan. 21 in Columbia. Please join in congratulating our newest Academy members!

You're invited!
Join your fellow Bar members and legislators for an evening of cocktails and light hors d'oeuvres at the Legislative Reception on Wednesday, Jan. 18, from 5 to 7 p.m. Don’t miss this opportunity to network and discuss issues of concern with members of the S.C. General Assembly. The event will be held in the downstairs atrium of the Capital City Center located at 1201 Main St. in Columbia. To RSVP, contact Catherine Scarlett at (803) 576-3782 or

Advance Sheet update
January 17, 2012
In this appeal of an order granting the respondents’ motion to set aside default judgment, the S.C. Supreme Court determined that the appellant was not given sufficient opportunity for discovery and cross-examination of adverse witnesses on the matter of authorization to accept service of process and remanded the case for further proceedings consistent with its opinion. The Court clarified Roche, which was read too narrowly in Langley.
Graham Law Firm v. Makawi, No. 27086, is available online

Member discipline

By order of January 13 the Court placed Douglas Francis Gay on interim suspension. W. Chaplin Spencer Jr. is the trustee.

By order of January 13 the Court placed Jeffery Glenn Smith on interim suspension. Ladson F. Howell Jr. is the trustee.

By order of January 17 the Court suspended Ivan James Toney for nine months (and imposed additional conditions) for misconduct which included failure to enter into proper fee agreements, failure to diligently handle client matters, failure to timely return client files, failure to file a corrected affidavit, failure to follow a court’s instruction, failure to appear for a hearing, failure to adequately communicate with clients, failure to timely refund unearned fees and failure to respond to inquiries from disciplinary counsel.

Member reinstatement
By order of January 10 Richard M. Lovelace Jr. has been reinstated to the practice of law.

Member resignations
By orders of January 11 the Court conditionally accepted the resignations from the Bar of Shannon Daly Marcell, Sara Schechter-Schoeman and Thomas M. Tupper.

Firm announcements
Charleston Waterkeeper
announces that Andrew Wunderley has joined the organization as staff attorney located at 360 Concord St., Ste. 103, Charleston 29401. (843) 608-9287.

Davis, Frawley, Anderson, McCauley, Ayer, Fisher & Smith, LLC announces that 
Ryan M. Wingard has become partner in the firm and Erica M. Parker has joined the firm as an associate located at 140 E. Main St., Lexington 29072. (803) 359-2512.

Dority & Manning, PA
announces that Alan R. Marshall has been elected shareholder of the firm located at 55 Beattie Place, Ste. 1600, Greenville 29601.

Richardson Plowden Robinson, PA announces the opening of its Myrtle Beach office located at 2103 Farlow St., 29577. (843) 448-1008.

Smith Moore Leatherwood, LLP announces that John Walker has been named partner in the Greenville office located at 300 E. McBee Ave., Ste. 500, 29601. (864) 242-6440.

Sowell Gray Stepp & Laffitte, LLC announces that Tina Cundari has been elected member in the firm located at 1310 Gadsden St., Columbia 29201. (803) 929-1400.

Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP announces that Michael J. Bogle has been named partner in the Greenville office located at 550 S. Main St., Ste. 400, 29601. (864) 255-5400.

January 19
Board of Governors Meeting, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
Family Law Section Council Meeting, Bar Building
House of Delegates Meeting, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
Memory Hold the Door Ceremony, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center

January 20
Ethics Advisory Committee Meeting, Nelson Mullins
Family Law Section Publications Committee Meeting, Bar Building

January 21
Bar Foundation Gala, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center

January 27
Elder Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building
Law Related Education Committee Meeting, Bar Building
Professional Responsibility Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 2
Community Association Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 3
Children's Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 10
Practice and Procedure Committee Meeting, Bar Building

To be added or deleted from the E-Blast mailing list, please contact Donna Oelhafen in Membership Services at or (803) 799-6653, ext. 171.

E-Blast Archives


950 Taylor Street, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 | Phone (803) 799-6653 | Fax (803) 799-4118 |