News + Press

January 10, 2012

January 05, 2012

Welcome to the South Carolina Bar's E-Blast! 
January 10, 2012
E-Blast highlights upcoming activities, legal information and links to the Bar's website at
The South Carolina Bar is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.

Scholars Academy of Conway wins We the People competition
Scholars Academy of Conway took home the state title at the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution competition on Thursday, Jan. 5. Wilson High School of Florence was named runner-up. The S.C. Bar thanks Columbia College for providing the facilities to make this competition possible and the staff who helped make it a success. Additionally, the Bar thanks the following attorney volunteers who served as judges in the competition: Prof. Steven Arsenault, Ellen Babb, Dare Bailey, Chauntel Bland, Prof. Brock Collins, Nichole Davis, Emma Dean, Patrick Dennis, Randi Farr, Evan Gessner, Emily Harrill, Christopher Leonard, Hon. Alexander S. Macaulay, Timothy Murphy, Sabrina Owen, Tiffany Richardson, Eric Ruschky, Sarah D. Smith, Larry Vanderbilt, Holly Wall and Ericka Williams.

Today is the last day to register in advance for the 2012 Convention!
Don't miss your chance to choose from 21 CLE seminars, including the popular Law Office Technology Seminar, Criminal and Civil Law Updates and Breakfast Ethics. This year’s line-up of special events, including annual favorites such as the president’s welcome reception, plenary luncheon and wine tasting, in addition to a legislative reception, historical tour of Columbia and glass blowing class, truly offers something for everyone. Advance r
ends today at 5 p.m. Those not registered can purchase tickets at the door for an additional cost.

Fabulous auction items up for grabs!
The sixth annual
S.C. Bar Foundation Gala is fast approaching! Join the 300 who have already reserved their seats for Saturday, Jan. 21, and be sure to check out some of the fabulous auction items that will be up for grabs! Thank you to all of the Gala's generous sponsors. To purchase your ticket, e-mail or call (803) 765-0517. You are not required to register for the Bar Convention to attend the Gala. Your Bar Foundation is the only statewide entity that funds the advancement of justice by improving access, education and accountability. Gala 2012 is just one effort to augment the Foundation's mission. Please join us.

Make plans to attend
ABA TECHSHOW 2012 March 29-31 at the Hilton Chicago! Register by Feb. 17 to take advantage of early-bird pricing, and Bar members can receive an even deeper discount by selecting the Event Promoter pricing and providing EP code 1225. Register online or by completing the Event Promoter Registration Form. Find out what’s hot in legal technology this year, including tablets, social media, cloud computing and more. For more information, contact Courtney Kennaday at

Authors needed for Journal of Alternative Dispute Resolution 

The Journal of Alternative Dispute Resolution, distributed by Charleston School of Law and the Charleston School of Law’s Center for Dispute Resolution, is seeking articles in the field of alternative dispute resolution. If you are interested in writing an article to be published in the next issue, contact Christie McDonnell at by Wednesday, Feb. 1.

Interim suspension
By order of January 3 the Court placed Kay F. Paschal on interim suspension.

Firm announcements
F. Miles Adler and James T.H. Buxton announce the merger of The Adler Law Firm, LLC and Buxton Legal Group, LLC with Schurig Jetel Beckett Tackett of Austin, Texas. The new firm is Morgan Adler Buxton Jetel with offices in Charleston, Pawleys Island and Austin. 

Burts, Turner & Rhodes
announces that Ryan F. McCarty has joined the firm located at 260 N. Church St., Spartanburg 29306. (864) 585-8166.

Littler Mendelson, PC
announces that D. Michael Henthorne has been named shareholder in the firm located at 1201 Main St., Ste. 1930, Columbia 29201. (803) 231-2500.

Maring & Moody, LLC announces the opening of its Murrells Inlet office located at 
11019 Tournament Blvd., Ste. 203, 29576, (843) 357-0007. Jeff Miles Martin has joined the Murrells Inlet office. Kelly Kjersgaard Hayes has joined the Georgetown office located at 1130 Highmarket St., 29442, (843) 545-9544. 

Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
announces that James K. Lehman has been elected managing partner with offices at 1320 Main St., 17th Floor, Columbia 29201. (803) 799-2000.

Turner Padget Graham & Laney, PA
announces that 
Edward W. Laney IV (CEO), Richard L. Hinson, Michael G. Roberts and Timothy D. St. Clair have been elected to the firm's executive committee, and Walter H. BarefootR. Wayne ByrdJ. Kenneth CarterArthur E. JusticeLanneau Wm. Lambert Jr., Franklin G. Shuler and Charles (Chuck) F. Turner have become leaders of the firm's core practice areas.

Williams & Hulst, LLC
announces that John O. Williams II has joined the firm as an associate located at 209 E. Main St., Moncks Corner 29461. (843) 761-8232.

January 13
Children's Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

January 19
Board of Governors Meeting, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
Family Law Section Council Meeting, Bar Building
House of Delegates Meeting, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center
Memory Hold the Door Ceremony, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center

January 20
Family Law Section Publications Committee Meeting, Bar Building

January 21
Bar Foundation Gala, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center

January 27
Elder Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building
Law Related Education Committee Meeting, Bar Building
Professional Responsibility Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 2
Community Association Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 3
Children's Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

February 10
Practice and Procedure Committee Meeting, Bar Building

To be added or deleted from the E-Blast mailing list, please contact Donna Oelhafen in Membership Services at or (803) 799-6653, ext. 171.

E-Blast Archives


950 Taylor Street, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 | Phone (803) 799-6653 | Fax (803) 799-4118 |