E-Blast Archive Issue

Stay connected with the Bar!

Welcome to the South Carolina Bar's E-Blast!
May 6, 2011
E-Blast highlights upcoming activities, legal information and links to the Bar's website at
The South Carolina Bar is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.

Board of Governors meets
The Board of Governors met May 5 in Greenville.

Requests to sunset the Professional Potential, Judicial Funding and HELP task forces were approved. The Lawyer-Legislator Task Force was converted to a committee. The following new task forces were created: Member Involvement Task Force, Lawyer Image Task Force and Needs of Veterans Task Force.

The Board selected the following Bar members for service on the S.C. Commission on Indigent Defense: James W. Bannister, Steven W. Hamm, Yvonne R. Murray-Boyles, Ashlin B. Potterfield and Walker H. Willcox. The nominees will be presented to Gov. Haley.

Elaine Fowler and Walton McLeod were reelected, and John Linton and Tom Young were elected to the Bar Foundation Board of Directors.

Elizabeth “Babs” Warner was appointed to an at large position on the Board of Governors.

Alex Turner was appointed to fill a 10th Circuit vacancy in the House of Delegates.

The Board approved the addition of a member benefit offering discounts from Office Depot.

The Board received as information a report from ALPS and a report from the Young Lawyers Division on an initiative to assist with the legal needs of veterans.

House of Delegates convenes in Greenville
The Bar's House of Delegates met May 5 in Greenville.

The House referred to the Professional Responsibility Committee a request to amend the Bar policy regarding the duration of online posting of disciplinary actions.

The House referred to the Lawyer Image Task Force a request to develop media advertising in defense of the rule of law.

The House approved a request to amend the Resolution of Fee Dispute Rules and a request from the Elder Law Committee to amend § 62-5-700, the S.C. Adult Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Jurisdiction Act. A request from the Military Law Section to adopt a rule establishing a military legal assistance program was also approved. The recommended rule changes will be forwarded to the Supreme Court.

The House approved constitutional and bylaw amendments that alter the composition of the Board of Governors by eliminating the third year of an at large member and comport the bylaws to Appellate Court Rules regarding Rule 415, SCACR. The constitutional amendments will be forwarded to the Court.

The House approved Bar and CLE Division budgets for 2011-12 and appointed the following members to the Nominating Committee: J. Hagood Tighe, Region II; Hal M. Strange, Region III; and Bruce Wallace, Region IV.

The House heard remarks from President A. Marvin Quattlebaum Jr., Immediate Past President Carl L. Solomon and incoming USC School of Law Dean Robert Wilcox. The Young Lawyer of the Year Award was presented to Amy Landers May of Columbia, and graduates of the 2011 Leadership Academy were recognized.

The Assembly convened at the conclusion of the meeting and approved the constitution amendments.

JMSC releases report on candidates for family court
The Judicial Merit Selection Commission released report on the candidates for the three family court seats yesterday. To view the report click here.

National History Day scholarship winner announced
Hon. Jerry Vinson Jr., John DeLoache, Josh Holford and Vanessa Richardson represented the Bar's LRE Division by judging the 2011 National History Day entries to determine the recipient of the $500 scholarship for an outstanding entry on legal history. National History Day is an educational program for students in grades 4-12. Students research and develop topics related to an annual theme and present their conclusions in exhibits, performances, documentaries, websites or historical papers. Nina Srivastava, a senior at Spartanburg Day School, is the
winner for the 2011 LRE History Day Award. This is the second year in a row Srivastava has won the award. Her entry was a historical paper titled, "Debating Democracy at the Constitutional Convention: The Actual Shot Heard Around the World." Srivastava's work will advance to the Kenneth E. Behring National History Day Contest at the University of Maryland at College Park June 12-16.

Advance Sheet update
May 4, 2011
The Court of Appeals reversed the master's finding that Phillips is responsible for road maintenance in the Crystal Pines subdivision and affirmed the master's finding that Crystal Pines residents acquired an easement to use a boat ramp located in the subdivision.

Crystal Pines Homeowners Association, Inc. v. Phillips, No. 4832, is available online

Firm announcements
Stephanie M. Brinkley announces the opening of Brinkley Law Firm, LLC located at 1180 Sam Rittenberg Blvd., Ste. 200, Charleston 29407. (843) 227-9009.

Collins & Lacy, PC announces that Amy Neuschafer has joined the firm located at 500 Highway 17 N., Ste. 204, Surfside Beach 29575. (843) 477-0500.

The Hawkins Law Firm announces that Richard J. Smith and C. Logan Rollins have joined the firm located at P.O. Box 5048, Spartanburg 29304. (864) 574-8801.

Wes Meetze announces the opening of Law Office of Marcus W. Meetze, LLC located at 712 E. Washington St., Greenville 29601. (864) 534-2187.

May 12
Tax Law Section Council Meeting, Conference Call

May 13
Elder Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building

May 19
Family Law Section Council Meeting, Bar Building

May 20
Children's Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building
Probate, Estate Planning & Trust Section Council Meeting, Conference Call

To be added or deleted from the E-Blast mailing list, please contact Latoya Jackson in Membership Services at or (803) 799-6653, ext. 137.

E-Blast Archives

Stay connected with the Bar!