E-Blast Archive Issue

Welcome to the South Carolina Bar's E-Blast!
March 8, 2011
E-Blast highlights upcoming activities, legal information and links to the Bar's website at

The South Carolina Bar is dedicated to advancing justice, professionalism and understanding of the law.

Hearings scheduled for judicial candidates

Public hearings have been scheduled for Monday, April 18, through Wednesday, April 20, regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions: Family Court: 4th Circuit, Seat 2: Bryan W. Braddock of Hartsville, Hon. Cely Anne Baker Brigman of Darlington, John McIver “Jay” Ervin III of Darlington, Hon. Salley Huggins McIntyre of Dillon, James Alexander “Alex” Stanton IV of Hartsville; 13th Circuit, Seat 3: Catherine Carr Christophillis of Greenville, Harry L. “Don” Phillips Jr. of Greenville, Thomas J. Quinn of Greenville, Hon. Michael D. Stokes of Taylors; 14th Circuit, Seat 3: Hon. Catherine D. Badgett of Ridgeland, Sally G. Calhoun of Beaufort, Diane P. DeWitt of Beaufort, Deborah Ann Malphrus of Ridgeland. Master-in-Equity: Aiken County: Maurice A. Griffith of Aiken; Dorchester County: Paul B. Ferrara III of North Charleston, Hon. Maité Murphy of Summerville, William Henry Sloan Jr. of Summerville. Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony by noon on Monday, April 4, to: Jane O. Shuler, Chief Counsel, 104 Gressette Building, P.O. Box 142, Columbia, SC 29202. For more information, click here.

Invitation to meet candidate for Dean of the USC School of Law
Members of the Bar are cordially invited to attend a reception for the purpose of meeting and greeting Susan Richey, candidate for Dean of the USC School of Law, on Monday, March 14, from 5:30 until 6:30 p.m. at the South Carolina Bar Conference Center located at 1501 Park St. in downtown Columbia. For headcount purposes, please notify if you plan to attend.
Nominations for Young Lawyer of the Year Award
The Young Lawyers Division is calling for nominations for the Young Lawyer of the Year Award. Nominations and supporting materials should be submitted by April 1 to or S.C. Bar YLD, Young Lawyer of the Year Award, P.O. Box 608, Columbia, SC 29202. Click here for the nomination packet.

PMAP – Your guide to…
Job satisfaction. Dan Pinnington, Practice Management Advisor and practicePRO Director for Lawyers' Professional Indemnity Company, Toronto, Canada, recently posted “The 2/3 Rule Will Make You a Happy and Successful Lawyer” on the Slaw weblog. Dan’s post describes a concise concept to help you decide whether to take a case. Apply the 2/3 Rule in your law practice, and see if it works for you. PMAP is free management assistance for Bar members. Contact Courtney Kennaday at or (803) 799-6653, ext. 183.

Compleat Lawyer honorees announced
The USC School of Law has announced its 2011 Compleat Lawyer Award recipients: Platinum (30 or more years in profession): Harry R. Easterling Sr., Joseph F. Rice and Thomas W. Traxler; Gold (15-29 years in profession): Mary Agnes "Molly" Hood Craig, Peter L. Hearn Sr. and Elizabeth Scott Moise; Silver (14 years or less in profession): Christopher R. Koon, James L. Ward Jr. and Thad H. Westbrook. The awards dinner will be held Thursday, April 14, in Columbia with Bar President Carl L. Solomon serving as featured speaker. For more information or to purchase tickets, click here.

S.C. Supreme Court Historical Society's 2011 Colloquium: May 19-20
Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal and U.S. District Court Judge Richard M. Gergel are pleased to invite Bar members to Charleston for the S.C. Supreme Court Historical Society's 2011 Colloquium May 19-20, 2011. The Colloquium, "J. Waites Waring and the Dissent that Changed America," commemorates the 60th Anniversary of the landmark school desegregation decision, Briggs v. Elliot. The program begins on Thursday evening, May 19, with a cocktail reception and dinner at Charleston Place. Renowned Harvard Law Professor Charles J. Ogletree Jr. will deliver a keynote address at the dinner. On Friday, May 20, a CLE seminar will be held at the Charleston Federal Courthouse in the same courtroom where Briggs was tried. Seminar faculty includes Professor Ogletree, Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal, Senior U.S. District Court Judge Matthew J. Perry and U.S. District Court Judges Richard M. Gergel and J. Michelle Childs. Click here for registration information. Members planning to attend are encouraged to secure hotel reservations as soon as possible.

Advance Sheet update
March 8, 2011
The S.C. Supreme Court granted a writ of certiorari to review the S.C. Court of Appeals’ opinion in Hollins v. Wal-Mart, 381 S.C. 245, 672 S.E.2d 805 (2008). Here, the Court dismissed the writ as improvidently granted.
Hollins v. Wal-Mart, No. 26937, is available online.

This case is a consolidated direct appeal concerning annexation, specifically the "100% petition method" in S.C. Code Section 5-3-150(3). The Court held that the circuit court properly granted summary judgment to the Respondents because the individual Appellants lacked standing. The State, however, had standing to challenge the annexation; therefore, the circuit court erred in finding that the State's signature was not required before the annexation could proceed under the 100% petition method. Nevertheless, because the statute of limitations in Section 5-3-270 had expired before the State sought to intervene, the Court held that the circuit court properly denied the State's motions.
Campbell v. Town of Yemassee, No. 26938, is available online.
Justice Pleicones concurred in part and dissented in part in a separate opinion.

By order of March 7 the Court suspended William Gary White III for misconduct which included failing to respect the rights of third persons and violating the Lawyer's Oath by writing an uncivil letter.

By orders of March 3 the Court accepted the resignations from the Bar of Lisa M. Crow of Sullivans Island, Franklin S. Henson of Atlanta, Ann A. Lieb of Port Orange, FL, and Lois S. Wilson of Windermere, FL.

Firm announcements
Austin J. Anderson annouces the opening of the Law Offices of Austin J. Anderson, LLC located at 128 S. Main St., Ste. 1, Summerville 29483. (843) 225-0232.

Bleecker Law Firm, LLC announces its relocation to 561 Savannah Hwy., Charleston 29407. (843) 722-2900.

Randi Lynne Powell Farr announces the opening of Farr Law Offices, LLC located at 101 E. Pitts St., Clinton 29325. (864) 833-5019.

Daniel D. Kienker announces the opening of the Law Office of Daniel D. Kienker located at 1527 Blanding St., Columbia 29201. (803) 223-6932.

March 9

Collaborative Law Committee Meeting, Teleconference

March 11
Elder Law Committee CLE & Luncheon, Bar Building
Practice and Procedure Committee Meeting, Bar Building

March 15
Employment and Labor Law Section Council Meeting, Conference Call

March 17
Board of Governors Meeting, Conference Call
Conventions Committee Meeting, Bar Conference Center
Family Law Section Council Meeting, Bar Building

March 18
ADR Commission Meeting, Mike Kelly Law Group, Columbia
Children's Law Committee Meeting, Bar Building
Ethics Advisory Committee Meeting, Nelson Mullins, Columbia
Probate, Estate Planning & Trust Section Council Meeting, Conference Call

March 25
Consumer Law Section CLE & Luncheon, Bar Building
Dispute Resolution Section Council Meeting, Bar Building 

To be added or deleted from the E-Blast mailing list, please contact Latoya Jackson in Membership Services at or (803) 799-6653, ext. 137.

E-Blast Archives