House of Delegates

The House of Delegates establishes policy for the Bar. It meets at least twice a year and includes delegates from each judicial circuit. Between House meetings, the Board of Governors may act on matters not inconsistent with House policy.

J. Steedley Bogan, Columbia

Immediate Past Chair
William K. Witherspoon, Columbia 

Past Presidents
Kenneth C. Anthony Jr., Spartanburg
Saunders M. Bridges, Florence
F. Earl Ellis Jr., Columbia
Elaine H. Fowler, Charleston
Elizabeth Van Doren Gray, Columbia
Wm. Douglas Gray, Greenville
John A. Hagins Jr., Greenville
Wm. Brantley Harvey Jr., Beaufort
Knox L. Haynsworth Jr., Greenville
Harold W. Jacobs, Charleston
Jacob H. Jennings, Bishopville
I.S. Leevy Johnson, Columbia
John E. Johnston, Greenville
D. Michael Kelly, Columbia
Howard P. King, Sumter
Lanneau Wm. Lambert Jr., Columbia
Wade H. Logan III, Mt. Pleasant
Angus H. Macaulay, Columbia
John O. McDougall, Columbia
Julius W. McKay, Columbia
David A. Merline Sr., Greenville
James C. Parham Jr., Greenville
Alice F. Paylor, Charleston
William L. Pope, Columbia
A. Marvin Quattlebaum Jr., Greenville
Richard S. Rosen, Charleston
Henry B. Smythe Jr., Charleston
Carl L. Solomon, Columbia
Fred W. Suggs Jr., Greenville
Thomas S. Tisdale Jr., Charleston
Flo Lester Vinson, Florence
Bradish J. Waring, Charleston
Daniel B. White, Greenville
J. Rutledge Young Jr., Charleston

First Judicial Circuit (2)
Randall L. Charpia, Summerville
Robert Douglas Robbins, Summerville

Second Judicial Circuit (2)
Mary T. Campbell, Aiken
Paul K. Simons Jr., Aiken

Third Judicial Circuit (2)
John R. Moorman, Sumter
Mary A.H. Shuler, Kingstree

Fourth Judicial Circuit (2)
Douglas Jennings Jr., Bennettsville
Elizabeth Biggerstaff York, Hartsville

Fifth Judicial Circuit (30)
A. Parker Barnes III, Columbia
Susan B. Berkowitz, Columbia
George B. Cauthen, Columbia
Amie L. Clifford, Columbia
Leslie A. Cotter Jr., Columbia
Patrick G. Dennis, Columbia
Rosalyn Woodson Frierson, Columbia
Robert Fredrick Goings, Columbia
Harry L. Goldberg, Columbia
Thomas R. Gottshall, Columbia
Daryl G. Hawkins, Columbia
Daniel Edward Johnson, Columbia
Catherine H. Kennedy, Columbia
Francis B.B. Knowlton, Columbia
Christopher R. Koon, Columbia
LeRoy Free Laney, Columbia
James Grant Long III, Columbia
John Lucius McCants, Columbia
Walton James McLeod IV, Columbia
Ian Douglas McVey, Columbia
Stephanie Anne Nye, Columbia
Cynthia Hall Ouzts, Columbia
Pamela Jane Roberts, Columbia
Eric Wm. Ruschky, Columbia
Stephen T. Savitz, Columbia
Jane Opitz Shuler, Columbia
William R. Thomas, Columbia
J. Hagood Tighe, Columbia
Robert E. Tyson Jr., Columbia
Mitchell Willoughby, Columbia 

Sixth Judicial Circuit (1)
Christopher D. Taylor, Chester

Seventh Judicial Circuit (5)
Samuel Robert Bass II, Spartanburg
Wes A. Kissinger, Spartanburg
J. Edwin McDonnell, Spartanburg
William O. Pressley Jr., Spartanburg
Wesley A. Stoddard, Spartanburg

Eighth Judicial Circuit (2)
George P. Callison Jr., Greenwood
James G. Padgett III, Greenwood

Ninth Judicial Circuit (20)
Nicholas J. Clekis, Charleston
Rhett C. Dunaway, Charleston
Debra J. Gammons, Charleston
C. Allen Gibson Jr., Charleston
W. Andrew Gowder Jr., Charleston
Justin S. Kahn, Charleston
Jennifer Blanchard McCoy, Charleston
Joseph S. Mendelsohn, Charleston
C. Tyson Nettles, Charleston
Anne L. Peterson-Hutto, Charleston
Edward K. Pritchard III, Charleston
Marie-Louise Ramsdale, Mt. Pleasant
A. Victor Rawl Jr., Charleston
John Edward Robinson, Charleston
John Edward Rosen, Charleston
Martha Kent Runey, Charleston
Randell Croft Stoney III, Charleston
R. Bruce Wallace, Charleston
Elizabeth H. Warner, Moncks Corner
David Whitten Wolf, Charleston

Tenth Judicial Circuit (3)
Timothy M. Bradley, Anderson
Daniel L. Draisen, Anderson
Caroline E. Waldrep, Anderson

Eleventh Judicial Circuit (4)
J. Leeds Barroll IV, Columbia
James Edward Bradley, W. Columbia
Reginald Patrick Corley, Columbia
Lisa Lee Smith, Lexington

Twelfth Judicial Circuit (3)
Gena Phillips Ervin, Florence
Susan J. Firimonte, Florence
Edward A. Love, Florence

Thirteenth Judicial Circuit (15)
Michael S. Cashman, Greenville
John V.S. Crangle, Greenville
Frank L. Eppes, Greenville
Stinson W. Ferguson, Greenville
Allen O. Fretwell, Greenville
Perry Hudson Gravely, Pickens
Jack D. Griffeth, Greenville
Meliah Bowers Jefferson, Greenville
Zandra L. Johnson, Greenville
Charles Stuart Mauney, Greenville
Kirby Rakes Mitchell, Greenville
Ross Buchanan Plyler, Greenville
S. Venus Poe, Fountain Inn
Reid T. Sherard, Greenville
William Marvin Wilson III, Greenville

Fourteenth Judicial Circuit (5)
William B. Harvey III, Beaufort
Tameaka A. Legette, Hampton
J. Reaves McLeod, Walterboro
Mary Elizabeth Sharp, Beaufort
David L. Tedder, Beaufort

Fifteenth Judicial Circuit (6)
Donna Earls Elder, Conway
Kenneth S. Generette, Conway
J. Gregory Hembree, Myrtle Beach
Randall K. Mullins, N. Myrtle Beach
Robert S. Shelton, Myrtle Beach
Hal M. Strange, Georgetown

Sixteenth Judicial Circuit (3)
Daniel Joseph Ballou, Rock Hill
Stephen M. Cox, Rock Hill
Harold C. Staley Jr., Rock Hill

Out of State Delegates
Tracy Thompson James, Charlotte, NC
Garry Donald Malphrus, Falls Church, VA

ABA State Bar Delegates
John D. Elliott, Columbia
Fred W. Suggs Jr., Greenville
Flo Lester Vinson, Florence

ABA State Delegate
I.S. Leevy Johnson, Columbia

Law School Deans
Andrew Louis Abrams, Charleston
Robert M. Wilcox, Columbia

Section Delegates
Construction Law
James E. Weatherholtz, Charleston

Consumer Law
Brian L. Boger, Columbia

Corporate, Banking and Securities Law
Marion E. Hinds Jr., Myrtle Beach

Criminal Law
James W. Bannister, Greenville

Dispute Resolution
Danny C. Crowe, Columbia

Employment and Labor Law
Molly Hughes Cherry, Charleston

Environment and Natural Resources
Robert Cody Lenhardt Jr., Charleston

Family Law
Ashlin B. Potterfield, Columbia

Government Law
Timothy C. Winslow, Columbia

Health Care Law
Kelly M. Jolley, Hilton Head Island

Military and Veterans’ Law
B. Ashley McNorrill, Lexington

Probate, Estate Planning and Trust
John M. Jolley, Hilton Head Island 

Real Estate Practices
Scott E. Lawrence, Greenville

Solo and Small Firm Practitioners
Alexandre T. Postic, Columbia

Tax Law
Robert E. August, Greenville

Torts and Insurance Practices
James Ledlie, Mt. Pleasant

Trial and Appellate Advocacy
Kirsten E. Small, Greenville

Workers’ Compensation
Walter H. Barefoot, Florence

Senior Lawyers Division
Michael D. Glenn, Anderson
John H. Muench, Florence

Young Lawyers Division
Lynsey T. Kmetz, Greenville


Note: The members of the Board of Governors are also members of the House of Delegates.


About Us


950 Taylor Street, Columbia, South Carolina 29201 | Phone (803) 799-6653 | Fax (803) 799-4118 |